Slashdot Items Tagged "ai"

Date / Time Story
Tuesday September 27, 2016 @04:26PM Google's New Translation Software Powered By Brainlike Artificial Intelligence
Tuesday September 27, 2016 @10:52AM Why Data Is the New Coal
Friday September 23, 2016 @11:45AM Apple Is Getting Ready To Take On Google and Amazon In a Battle For The Living Room
Wednesday September 21, 2016 @02:56AM Google Allo Messaging App Launches For iOS and Android
Wednesday September 21, 2016 @12:32AM Tesla Fixes Security Bugs After Claims of Model S Hack
Tuesday September 20, 2016 @06:24PM MIT Scientists Use Radio Waves To Sense Human Emotions
Tuesday September 20, 2016 @01:40AM US Regulators Issue Comprehensive Policy On Self-Driving Cars
Wednesday September 14, 2016 @04:08PM Hacker George Hotz Unveils $999 Self-Driving Add-On
Wednesday September 14, 2016 @01:56AM Robots Will Eliminate 6% of All US Jobs By 2021, Says Report
Tuesday September 13, 2016 @03:26PM Video Games Are So Realistic That They Can Teach AI What the World Looks Like
Friday September 09, 2016 @03:41PM Google's DeepMind Develops New Speech Synthesis AI Algorithm Called WaveNet
Thursday September 08, 2016 @08:30PM Amazon Launches Updated Fire HD 8 Tablet Now With Alexa Voice Services
Monday September 05, 2016 @04:36PM Japan To Develop 3D Maps For Self-Driving Cars
Friday September 02, 2016 @10:18PM Walmart Is Cutting 7,000 Jobs Due To Automation
Thursday September 01, 2016 @10:05PM IBM Watson Created The First-Ever AI-Made Movie Trailer For 'Morgan'
Thursday September 01, 2016 @01:08AM Baidu Open-Sources Its Deep Learning Tools
Wednesday August 31, 2016 @05:41PM Google's DeepMind To Apply AI In Head and Neck Cancer Treatments
Monday August 29, 2016 @05:36PM Tesla To Further Restrict Its Autopilot Software To Prevent Accidents
Friday August 26, 2016 @02:04AM Amazon, NVIDIA and The CIA Want To Teach AI To Watch Us From Space
Wednesday August 24, 2016 @11:35PM Researchers Create Algorithm That Diagnoses Depression From Your Instagram Feed
Wednesday August 24, 2016 @08:17PM 'Legalist' Startup Automates The Lawsuit Strategy Peter Thiel Used To Bankrupt Gawker
Wednesday August 24, 2016 @01:10AM Microsoft Buys AI-Powered Scheduling App Genee
Thursday August 18, 2016 @07:51PM RealDoll CEO Aims To Make Its Sex Dolls Love You Back Via AI App
Thursday August 18, 2016 @07:10PM Satellite Images Can Map Poverty
Thursday August 18, 2016 @05:29PM Airbus Details Plan To Build Flying Taxis
Wednesday August 10, 2016 @07:45PM Tesla Owner In China Blames Autopilot For Crash
Tuesday August 09, 2016 @06:48PM Nicholas Carr Says Tech 'Utopia Is Creepy'
Friday August 05, 2016 @06:35PM Apple Acquires Machine Learning and AI Startup Turi
Friday August 05, 2016 @04:58PM Man Says Tesla Autopilot Saved His Life By Driving Him To the Hospital
Thursday August 04, 2016 @04:17PM Researchers Discover How To Fool Tesla's Autopilot System
Wednesday August 03, 2016 @08:04PM IBM Creates World's First Artificial Phase-Change Neurons
Tuesday August 02, 2016 @06:29PM Seymour Papert, Creator of the Logo Language, Dies At 88
Wednesday July 27, 2016 @08:13PM Tesla and Autopilot Supplier Mobileye Split Up After Fatal Crash
Tuesday July 26, 2016 @06:33PM Tesla Model S In Fatal Autopilot Crash Was Going 74 MPH In a 65 Zone, NTSB Says
Friday July 22, 2016 @02:32PM China Wants To Be a Top 10 Nation For Automation By Putting More Robots In Its Factories
Thursday July 21, 2016 @05:58PM Tesla's Autopilot Mode Reportedly Saves Pedestrian's Life
Thursday July 21, 2016 @12:22AM Tesla's 'Master Plan, Part Deux' Includes Trucks, Buses and Ride-Sharing
Wednesday July 20, 2016 @12:06PM Google Testing AI System To Cool Data Center Energy Bills
Tuesday July 19, 2016 @06:49PM Amazon Patents Way To Turn Lampposts, Church Steeples Into Drone Perches
Monday July 18, 2016 @06:27PM BuzzFeed and Washington Post To Use Robots For RNC Coverage
Friday July 15, 2016 @07:27PM Elon Musk: Autopilot Feature Was Disabled In Pennsylvania Crash
Wednesday July 13, 2016 @05:27PM Parents Upset After Their Boy Was 'Knocked Down and Run Over' By A Security Robot
Monday July 11, 2016 @07:06PM Third Tesla Crashes Amid Report of SEC Investigation
Wednesday July 06, 2016 @08:56PM Google Is Working On Two Android Wear Smartwatches, Says Report
Wednesday July 06, 2016 @07:21PM Second Tesla Autopilot Crash Under Review By US Regulators
Tuesday July 05, 2016 @05:38PM Tesla Autopilot 2.0 Is Coming This Year, Source Confirms
Tuesday July 05, 2016 @02:01PM Google's DeepMind AI To Use 1 Million NHS Eye Scans To Spot Diseases Earlier
Monday July 04, 2016 @04:58PM New Cars Are Too Expensive For The Typical Family, Says Study
Saturday July 02, 2016 @12:19AM Amazon's Alexa Virtual Assistant Can Now Order Millions of Prime Products For You
Friday July 01, 2016 @11:44PM Facebook Messenger Now Has 11,000 Bots
Friday July 01, 2016 @08:40PM DVD Player Found In Tesla Autopilot Crash, Says Florida Officials
Thursday June 30, 2016 @05:07PM US Regulators Investigating Tesla Over Use of 'Autopilot' Mode Linked To Fatal Crash
Wednesday June 29, 2016 @02:55AM Satya Nadella Explores How Humans and AI Can Work Together To Solve Society's Greatest Challenges
Tuesday June 28, 2016 @07:05PM Tesla Owner Makes 'Solid Metal Snake' Self-Charging System That Elon Musk Promised
Tuesday June 28, 2016 @06:15PM The Moral Dilemma of Driverless Cars: Save The Driver or Save The Crowd?
Tuesday June 28, 2016 @03:58PM Let's Stop Freaking Out About Artificial Intelligence
Tuesday June 28, 2016 @12:37AM AI Downs 'Top Gun' Pilot In Dogfights
Monday June 27, 2016 @05:13PM Rolls-Royce Eyes Autonomous Ships, Expects Remote-Controlled Cargo Ships By 2020
Friday June 24, 2016 @07:07PM Robot Pizza Company 'Zume' Wants To Be 'Amazon of Food'
Friday June 24, 2016 @06:17PM Scientists Force Computer To Binge On TV Shows and Predict What Humans Will Do
Friday June 24, 2016 @04:04PM Apple Won't Collect Your Data For Its AI Services Unless You Let It
Thursday June 23, 2016 @04:10PM Boston Dynamics' SpotMini Is All Electric, Agile, and Has A Capable Face-Arm
Wednesday June 22, 2016 @08:51PM Why Drones Could Save Door-To-Door Mail Delivery
Wednesday June 22, 2016 @07:21PM Europe's Robots To Become 'Electronic Persons' Under Draft Plan
Tuesday June 21, 2016 @03:32PM Elon Musk's Open Source OpenAI: We're Working On a Robot For Your Household Chores
Friday June 17, 2016 @07:05PM Olli is a 3D Printed, IBM Watson-Powered, Self-Driving Minibus
Friday June 17, 2016 @04:25PM Apple Explains Why iMessage Isn't Coming To Android
Friday June 17, 2016 @12:47PM It's Happening: A Robot Escaped a Lab In Russia and Made a Dash For Freedom
Thursday June 16, 2016 @06:58PM Rolls-Royce Unveils First Driverless Car Complete With Silk 'Throne'
Thursday June 16, 2016 @10:34AM Microsoft Boosts Its Chatbot Future By Acquiring Wand Labs
Wednesday June 15, 2016 @07:10PM FBI Can Access Hundreds of Millions of Face Recognition Photos
Wednesday June 15, 2016 @12:54AM Walmart Experimenting With Robotic Shopping Cart For Stores
Monday June 13, 2016 @05:20PM Nikola Motor Receives Over 7,000 Preorders Worth Over $2.3 Billion For Its Electric Truck
Monday June 13, 2016 @04:21PM Programmer Automates His Job For 6 Years, Gets Fired, Realizes He Has Forgotten How To Code
Friday June 10, 2016 @04:39PM Google's Algorithm Displays Racist Results Because the Society Is Racist
Friday June 10, 2016 @12:08AM Woman Uses 'Hey Siri' To Call An Ambulance and Help Save Her Child's Life
Thursday June 09, 2016 @07:57PM Lenovo and Motorola Unveil PHAB2 Tango AR and Modular Moto Z Smartphones
Thursday June 09, 2016 @05:57PM Movie Written By Algorithm Turns Out To Be Hilarious and Intense
Thursday June 09, 2016 @04:24PM Parents Are Worried the Amazon Echo Is Conditioning Their Kids To Be Rude
Wednesday June 08, 2016 @04:58PM Google's AI 'TensorFlow' Software Is Coming To iOS
Wednesday June 08, 2016 @04:13PM Passenger-Carrying Drone Gets Symbolic Approval For Test Flights In Nevada
Tuesday June 07, 2016 @01:52AM Tesla: Model X Accident Caused By Driver Error, Not Autopilot
Monday June 06, 2016 @07:42PM Tech CEOs Declare This the Era of Artificial Intelligence
Friday June 03, 2016 @11:25AM It's Time To Ignore Petty Politics and Focus On 'Transformative' Tech: Eric Schmidt
Friday June 03, 2016 @01:28AM Google's Self-Driving Cars Now Know When To Honk
Thursday June 02, 2016 @01:20AM Bill Gates: AI Is The 'Holy Grail'
Wednesday June 01, 2016 @06:13PM Mary Meeker's 2016 Internet Trends Report: Messaging Apps Could Rival Home Screen
Wednesday June 01, 2016 @04:54PM Google's 'Project Magenta' Art Machine Composes Its First Song
Tuesday May 31, 2016 @07:23PM Facebook Spares Humans By Fighting Offensive Photos With AI
Monday May 30, 2016 @07:34PM ASUS Unveils $599 Home Robot 'Zenbo'
Friday May 27, 2016 @04:05PM Amazon Built An Echo Simulator You Can Use In the Browser
Thursday May 26, 2016 @01:32AM Xiaomi Unveils Budget-Friendly Mi Drone, $460 For 4K Or $380 For 1080p
Wednesday May 25, 2016 @07:17PM Researchers Teaching Robots To Feel and React To Pain
Tuesday May 24, 2016 @06:57PM Toyota Forms 'Strategic Partnership' With Uber
Tuesday May 24, 2016 @06:03PM Apple To Open Up Siri To Developers, Release An Amazon Echo Competitor
Monday May 23, 2016 @01:34PM Google Plans To Bring Password-Free Logins To Android Apps By Year-End
Monday May 23, 2016 @06:46AM Avoiding BlackBerry's Fate: How Apple Could End Up In a Similar Position
Friday May 20, 2016 @06:17PM Professor Surprises Students With AI Teacher Assistant
Friday May 20, 2016 @05:33PM Real-Life RoboCop Guards Shopping Centers In California
Friday May 20, 2016 @05:19PM AI Will Create 'Useless Class' Of Human, Predicts Bestselling Historian
Thursday May 19, 2016 @04:59PM Google Patents Self-Driving Car That Glues Pedestrians To The Hood In A Crash
Thursday May 19, 2016 @04:23PM Humanoid 'Pepper' Robot Needs US Android Programmers
Wednesday May 18, 2016 @06:26PM Google's Tensor Processing Unit Could Advance Moore's Law 7 Years Into The Future
Wednesday May 18, 2016 @02:03PM Google Assistant and Google Home: Amazon Echo, But From Google
Friday May 13, 2016 @09:31PM BakerHostetler Hires Artificial Intelligent Attorney 'Ross'
Friday May 13, 2016 @07:03PM Google Paying Arizona Residents $20/Hr To Test Self-Driving Cars
Friday May 13, 2016 @05:00PM Hyundai's New 'Wearable Robot' Gives You Super-Strength
Thursday May 12, 2016 @10:13AM Google Chirp To Rival Amazon Echo
Wednesday May 11, 2016 @05:35PM Tesla Model S Owner Claims Vehicle Went Rogue Causing An Accident By Itself
Monday May 09, 2016 @09:30PM Swarm AI Correctly Predicts Kentucky Derby Superfecta, Turns $20 Into $11,000
Monday May 09, 2016 @12:10PM Creators Of Siri Demo Their Next AI Assistant Viv, It's Far More Open Platform
Friday May 06, 2016 @11:55AM Google's AI Is Devouring Romance Novels
Wednesday May 04, 2016 @04:27PM Robot Stitches Tissue By Itself Without A Real Doctor Pulling The Strings
Tuesday May 03, 2016 @04:20PM Uber Plans To Kill Surge Pricing With Machine Learning
Monday May 02, 2016 @04:59PM Self-Driving Features Could Lead To More Sex In Moving Cars, Expert Warns
Monday May 02, 2016 @11:39AM With AI Getting Better at Cognitive Abilities, Humans Will Have Even Fewer Jobs
Friday April 29, 2016 @11:44AM Google AI Has Access To 1.6M People's NHS Records
Thursday April 28, 2016 @03:33PM Nvidia GPU-Powered Autonomous Car Teaches Itself To See And Steer
Thursday April 28, 2016 @01:59PM Google CEO Predicts AI-Fueled Future
Wednesday April 27, 2016 @12:34PM Chinese Security Robot Draws Dalek, Terminator Comparisons
Tuesday April 26, 2016 @09:30PM Zero Zero's Camera Drone Could Be A Robot Command Center In The Future
Thursday April 21, 2016 @04:36PM Elon Musk Plans To Solve Traffic Congestion With Self-Driving Buses
Monday April 18, 2016 @10:08AM MIT Reveals AI Platform Which Detects 85 Percent of Cyberattacks
Friday April 15, 2016 @07:56PM Sharp Unveils Cute Robot Phone At A Not-So-Cute $1,800 Price
Thursday April 14, 2016 @05:36PM DARPA's Latest Chip Is Designed To Be Bad At Arithmetic
Wednesday April 13, 2016 @05:15PM 'Neural Bypass' Links Brain To Hand To Get Around Paralysis
Wednesday April 13, 2016 @04:25PM Google Calendar Celebrates 10th Birthday With New Goals Feature
Monday April 11, 2016 @04:21PM Ford Tests Its Self-Driving Car In Total Darkness Using LiDAR Tech
Friday April 08, 2016 @10:38AM The Next Hot Job in Silicon Valley Is For Poets
Wednesday April 06, 2016 @06:29PM Mapping The Brain To Build Better Machines
Wednesday April 06, 2016 @04:57PM Computer Created A 'New Rembrandt' After Analyzing Paintings
Wednesday April 06, 2016 @12:38PM Amazon Opens Up the Software For Alexa-Controlled Smart Homes
Tuesday April 05, 2016 @09:43PM Chat App Kik Beats Facebook To Launching a Bot Store
Tuesday April 05, 2016 @04:06PM Intel Buys Yogitech, Aims To Improve Safety of Autonomous Cars and IoT Systems
Tuesday April 05, 2016 @02:55PM NVIDIA Creates a 15B-Transistor Chip With 16GB Bandwidth Memory For Deep Learning
Friday April 01, 2016 @08:16PM Siri Now Responds Appropriately To Sexual Assaults
Friday April 01, 2016 @06:14PM Man Builds 'Scarlett Johansson' Robot From Scratch
Friday April 01, 2016 @12:34AM Elon Musk Announces $35,000 Tesla Model 3 Electric Car
Wednesday March 30, 2016 @07:44PM Microsoft Launches Cognitive Services Based On Project Oxford and Bing
Wednesday March 30, 2016 @06:12PM Skype is Getting Cortana and Crazy Bot Messaging
Monday March 28, 2016 @07:31PM DARPA's Latest Grand Challenge Takes On The Radio Spectrum
Saturday March 26, 2016 @02:12PM IBM Researchers Propose Device To Dramatically Speed Up Neural-Net Learning
Thursday March 24, 2016 @10:39AM Microsoft's 'Teen Girl' AI Experiment Becomes a 'Neo-Nazi Sex Robot'
Thursday March 24, 2016 @04:29AM Japanese AI Program Wrote a Short Novel, Almost Won a Literary Prize
Wednesday March 23, 2016 @08:39PM Google Opens Access To Its Speech Recognition API, Going Head To Head With Nuance
Tuesday March 22, 2016 @07:48PM Researchers Propose Neural Network To Assess Your State of Mind From Your Voice
Tuesday March 22, 2016 @05:54PM Why We Should Fear A Cashless World
Monday March 21, 2016 @08:29PM How Uber Turned Carnegie Mellon Into a Minor Nursery For Its Research Division
Monday March 21, 2016 @03:56PM Apple Unveils Liam, An iPhone Recycling Robot That Salvages Parts
Saturday March 19, 2016 @02:37PM Could You Fall In Love With This Robot?
Saturday March 19, 2016 @01:43PM Workers In China, India, USA Believe AI and Robots Will Replace Them
Friday March 18, 2016 @05:42PM South Korea Commits $863 Million To AI Research After AlphaGo 'Shock'
Thursday March 17, 2016 @07:15PM Fast-Food CEO Invests In Machines Because Regulation Makes Them Cheaper Than Employees
Thursday March 17, 2016 @05:23PM Facebook's Messenger Bot Store Could Be Most Important Launch Since App Store
Thursday March 17, 2016 @02:16PM Google Puts Boston Dynamics Up For Sale In Robotics Retreat
Wednesday March 16, 2016 @10:54AM How 'Assassin's Creed' Or 'Fallout 4' Might Help Make AI Smarter
Wednesday March 16, 2016 @09:58AM RBS Cuts Hundreds of Jobs As FCA Approves 'Robo-Advisers'
Tuesday March 15, 2016 @06:06PM GM, Lyft Working Toward Creating Autonomous Vehicle Ride-Sharing Network
Tuesday March 15, 2016 @05:27AM Google's AlphaGo AI Beats Lee Se-dol Again, Wins Go Series 4-1
Monday March 14, 2016 @12:52PM Microsoft to Open Source Minecraft-Based Project AIX
Sunday March 13, 2016 @09:46AM GNU Project Introduces Gneural Network AI Package
Sunday March 13, 2016 @06:02AM Go Champion Lee Se-dol Beats Google's DeepMind AI For First Time
Saturday March 12, 2016 @11:20AM Alpha Go Takes the Match, 3-0
Friday March 11, 2016 @06:22PM HPE's Haven OnDemand Offers 'Machine Learning As a Service'
Friday March 11, 2016 @01:01PM GM Buys Driverless Software Startup Cruise Automation
Thursday March 10, 2016 @05:51PM Human Go Champion 'Speechless' After 2nd Loss To Machine
Wednesday March 09, 2016 @06:00PM MIT Creates Algorithm That Speeds Up Page Load Time By 34%
Wednesday March 09, 2016 @09:47AM Google's AlphaGo Beats Lee Se-dol In the First Match
Tuesday March 08, 2016 @08:55PM BMW Showcases Self-Driving Concept Car
Tuesday March 08, 2016 @08:27PM 1 in 3 Developers Fear AI Will Replace Them
Monday March 07, 2016 @03:58PM Fighting Food Poisoning In Las Vegas With Machine Learning
Friday March 04, 2016 @08:33PM BMW To Compete With Google To Build Software For Self-Driving Cars
Thursday March 03, 2016 @04:32PM AAA: 75% Of Drivers Say They Wouldn't Feel Safe In An Autonomous Vehicle
Thursday March 03, 2016 @10:41AM Skydio's Forthcoming Consumer Drones Can Sense and Avoid Obstacles
Wednesday March 02, 2016 @12:10AM Mindfulness Meditators Are Less Affected By Virtual Reality
Tuesday March 01, 2016 @12:29PM People Will Follow a Robot In an Emergency - Even If It's Wrong
Monday February 29, 2016 @10:12PM Google Self-Driving Car Might Have Caused First Crash In Autonomous Mode
Monday February 29, 2016 @01:47PM Autonomous Cars Could Be Worse For Carbon Emissions
Monday February 29, 2016 @09:44AM Mercedes-Benz Swaps Robots For People On Assembly Lines
Saturday February 27, 2016 @04:35PM Google Unveils Neural Network With Ability To Determine Location of Any Image
Saturday February 27, 2016 @03:02AM AI Bookworms Seek To Predict Human Behavior
Thursday February 25, 2016 @02:22PM Google DeepMind Applies AI To Healthcare With NHS Partnership
Monday February 22, 2016 @11:27AM A 19-Year-Old Made A Free Robot Lawyer That Has Appealed $3M In Parking Tickets
Sunday February 21, 2016 @11:24PM Tiny, Blurry Pictures Find the Limits of Computer Image Recognition
Saturday February 20, 2016 @03:11PM Robots Could Learn Human Values By Reading Stories, Research Suggests
Thursday February 18, 2016 @08:42PM PVS-Studio Analyzer Spots 40 Bugs In the FreeBSD Kernel
Monday February 15, 2016 @10:16PM At X, Failure Is Not an Option: It's a Feature (Astro Teller's 2016 TED Talk)
Saturday February 13, 2016 @05:09PM Would You Bet Against Sex Robots? AI 'Could Leave Half Of World Unemployed'
Friday February 12, 2016 @12:23PM Google Brain Researchers Make Significant Progress On Language Modeling
Thursday February 11, 2016 @10:22PM Debating a Ban On Autonomous Weapons
Wednesday February 10, 2016 @11:45AM NHTSA Gives Green Light To Self-Driving Cars
Tuesday February 09, 2016 @01:37AM Google Working On Wireless Charging For Self-Driving Cars
Monday February 08, 2016 @08:18PM Wolves Howl In Different 'Dialects,' Machine Learning Finds
Sunday February 07, 2016 @04:37PM Microsoft's Cortana Doesn't Put Up With Sexual Harassment
Friday February 05, 2016 @04:06PM Financial Advisers Disrupted By AI
Thursday February 04, 2016 @01:02PM Harnessing Artificial Intelligence To Build an Army of Virtual Analysts
Monday February 01, 2016 @05:42PM Jaguar Land Rover To Test Autonomous Cars In 'Living Lab'
Monday February 01, 2016 @12:28PM Let's Tear Down a Kiva Bot!
Thursday January 21, 2016 @01:29PM How Robotaxis Might Mitigate Electric Car Depreciation
Thursday January 21, 2016 @11:09AM Can Author Obfuscation Trump Forensic Linguistics?